Nora Ephron and my Big Birthday

Update: One long article has become two. Nora Ephron: Exit, Laughing is at WomensVoicesForChange.org. My Big Birthday will follow soon.

Nora Ephron died last night. I was devastated when I read the news. She spoke for me. What she wrote rang true. And her style of writing, as if she were speaking to me, right here with me, was what I wanted so much to emulate but never quite succeeded.

. . .

And she was exactly one year older than I am. I didn’t know she had leukemia, I didn’t know she was sick, so the news of her death was a bombshell. I’ve been fighting the reality of my Big Birthday for a month now.

This article will be published in its entirety later this week. Link forthcoming.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings, People, Personal, Women

What do you think?

