Why I do what I do

Now in the middle of interviews for a piece on Father’s Day, I’m reminded once again of why I love being a journalist. I begin by explaining what I’m doing and what I need from  the interviewee. Almost invariably, as the story unfolds I become enthralled. I never cease to be amazed at how many different stories people have, stories I’d never suspected to hear.

Father with baby in shower by Joel Tornatore

Father with baby in shower by Joel Tornatore

And they do tell me! Most people, I’ve found, like to talk about themselves. Is it because I’m a disembodied voice on the other end of a telephone line that they willingly divulge such intimate details of their lives? How did I gain their trust? I am so grateful to every one of them for enriching my life with such engaging, funny and thought-provoking stories.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journalism, People, Personal

What do you think?